|
Name |
Purchasing Model |
Description |
Key Features |
Pros |
Limitations |
|
Free, Premium ($6.99 or $9.99/month), Enterprise (custom). Students get 40% discount. |
“AI-powered scientific search engine” to summarize areas of consensus in academic research
|
Save searches and individual citations GPT-4-powered summaries Summarizes relevant findings when you search Provides list of specific citations used to generate summary Includes only peer-reviewed sources |
Access to Semantic Scholar and SciScore datasets
Integrates with reference managers (currently only Zotero)
Prioritizes accuracy by using extractive rather than generative text |
Searches scientific research papers across a range of science disciplines listed here.
Consensus “meter” not completely accurate–librarians have reported that if you shift query just a bit, meter can change more than seems reasonable. |
|
|
Free |
Free, AI-driven search and discovery tools, and open resources for the global research community.
|
Provides 1 sentence TLDR for journal articles
Users can create unique libraries and receive AI informed recommendations and notifications of new papers
API access available
Institutional log-ins available |
Access to 200 million academic papers in STM and HSS (though only 8 million available as full text)
Semantic Reader tool auto highlights key points to facilitate skimming and includes annotation and highlighting tools |
TLDR feature only available for computer science, biology, and medicine |
|
|
Free for certain number of credits, then pay as you go. Contact them for enterprise subscription. |
A research assistant using LLMs to automate lit review, primarily through synthesis and extraction |
Uses semantic similarity rather than keywords for search
Generates custom summaries based on your query
|
Use Semantic Scholar dataset. Auto searches for methodological flaws and assesses reliability of source. Claims to reduce inaccuracies by: fine tuning models on specific tasks, only showing papers that exist, make it easy to view original source to double-check answers. |
|
|
|
Scite.ai, Research Solutions, Inc. |
$20/month Enterprise
|
“Helps researchers better discover and understand research articles through Smart Citations–citations that display the context of the citation and describe whether the article provides supporting or contrasting evidence.”
Scite Assistant (beta) uses generative AI to answer questions by querying their citation index |
Chrome extension
Enterprise version can track how research from across the institution is being cited
Zotero plugin available
API available
|
|
|
|
Free |
“Search for papers and authors, monitor new literature, visualize research landscapes, and collaborate with colleagues.” -Mission statement
Search powered by PubMed and Semantic Scholar |
Create “collections” of papers and receive recommendations (“Spotify for papers”), visualize networks of papers and authorship, collaborate on collections.
Emphasis on visualization-based searching.
Zotero integration
|
|
|
|
|
Elsevier institutional subscription only |
Scopus AI provides easy-to-read topic summaries based on trusted content from over 27,000 academic journals, from more than 7,000 publishers worldwide, with over 1.8 billion citations, and includes over 17 million author profiles.
Using ChatGPT hosted on Microsoft Azure |
Generates summaries of articles from 27,000 Elsevier academic journals. Search engine retrieves information then LLM summarizes (retrieval-augmented generation).
New features as of May 2024: concept map relationships, SML reranker, reflection layer, export to SciVal |
Content is vetted and selected by an independent review board.
Provides suggested follow-up questions and links to original research.
Working towards eliminating inaccurate responses by 1) citing returned abstracts in responses 2) searching on articles published since 2018 3) low “temperature” (doesn’t often deviate from most plausible words in its response). [See Nature]
Cites references in responses. Searches are grounded in curated Scopus content
Data inputted is not used to train ChatGPT
Adheres to GDPR to ensure user privacy |
|
|
|
Search is free, can upgrade to Pro for $20/month or $200/year (GPT-4, and ability to upload files and ask q’s about them).
|
Advertised primarily as a search engine with an emphasis on finding accurate information and giving the citation of where the info comes from. Founder refers to it as an “answer engine,” as rather than giving a list of links in which one searches for the answer to their search question, Perplexity generates an answer and then points to its sources.
Pages (new May 2024) tool to help users create customizable articles to share content |
Real time search engine, cites sources, emphasis on accuracy.
Search focus: narrow down the sources used to generate the response (can search just within academic papers, or within Youtube, for example)
Copilot features asks follow up questions to narrow down your question to get more accurate results
Can upload files (plain text, code, PDF) as content to generate response.
Collections feature allows users to organize threads and invite others to collaborate on their “collections.” |
|
|
|
|
Dimensions Research GPT and Dimensions Research GPT Enterprise, Digital Science |
Research GPT used through ChatGPT Plus or Enterprise Accounts. Research GPT Enterprise used through ChatGPT Enterprise account. |
Ask research-related questions and draw from the Dimensions database in ChatGPT interface. Offers access to source for answers. |
|
|
|
|
Name |
Purchasing Model |
Description |
Key Features |
Pros |
Limitations |
|
AI Summarization for Dimensions, Digital Science |
Available to Dimensions users, both free web app and enhanced Dimensions platform |
Provides summaries and key insights from Dimensions articles |
|
|
|
|
Papers AI Assistant, ReadCube, Digital Science |
Beta release, waitlist signup |
Tool for understanding (summarizing, asking questions) of PDF you have opened |
Content summarization, deep-dive queries about articles, terminology explanations, contextualized information, analyze paper to identify areas for future research, making papers more understandable to wider audiences, can analyze paper in multiple languages. |
|
Currently only available in web version of Papers |
|
Currently free to Syndetics Unbound subscribers while in beta mode |
A LibraryThing and ProQuest product that searches “authoritative book data”
Uses LLMs from ClaudeAI and OpenAI to power its search |
Displays items in a libraries collection first |
Does well if there are some mistakes in your search. Useful if you don’t know exactly what you are looking for. (Ex: “that book about ___ with ___ on the cover”)
Data is verified so that only real books get through as outputs–LibraryThing claim that Talpa will not generate fake book citations. Data coming from sources like Bowker and libraries’ holdings. |
|
|
|
EBSCO |
Not yet commercially released: likely an add-on for subscribers |
EBSCO is piloting several uses of generative AI in EDS and EBSCOhost to improve search results and summarization of articles |
Article summarization and enhanced search capabilities due to increase in linked data relationships. |
|
|
|
Limited beta release |
GenAI research tool, which will appear on content pages on JSTOR |
Generates summaries, suggests topics and shows related content within JSTOR corpus, answers user questions about document content. |
|
|
|
|
Individual subscriptions at several tiers: free, basic ($4.99/month), and premium ($8.99/month. Requires ScholarAI account and ChatGPT Plus to use the tool.
FAQ says a standalone tool that does not require ChatGPT Plus will be released in future.
|
ChatGPT plugin built to interface with open access peer-reviewed literature. Also have ScholarAI GPT available in OpenAI’s GPT store. |
Generates snippets rather than summaries to minimize hallucinations |
Provides citations to sources and limits hallucinations
Zotero integration |
Limited to OA sources, requires paid subscription to ChatGPT (at current time) to function. Works with one article at a time rather than across a corpus.
|
|
|
Researchers can sign up for free to post their articles. Premium individual & group plans also available with additional features (more advanced metrics and better publicity for articles). Plans for publishers, universities, and pharma. |
Platform for showcasing research publications and making it accessible to wide audiences with reader-friendly summaries, now using AI to generate summaries. Announcement here. |
|
|
|
|
|
Free for core features with limited results and analysis, $10/month for expanded results and unlimited analysis.
Teams version coming soon, contact for university and institution pricing. |
Analyzes inputs (text, URL, pdf) to find relevant scholarly articles and related topics
Data for results coming from OpenAlex |
Word and Google Doc extensions available.
Use filters to sort further through results
Highlight search–highlight key parts of inputted document and search will be tailored accordingly
One key use case for both researchers and students is using the tool to check your literature review has not missed any important literature on the given topic. |
|
Currently only optimized for English language results, but considering expanding to other languages in future |
|
|
Available in GPT store, or try for free on R Discovery’s website |
Ask questions and get a response that is a summary of most relevant papers from R Discovery’s databases, with citations. Followed by a result list of relevant papers. Running on OpenAI’s GPT models. |
|
|
|
|
|
Basic version free, Pro and Team versions for a fee |
Discovery tool for academic articles that also generates visualizations of relationships between articles
Database: Crossref, Semantic Scholar, Open Alex |
Search and discovery, visualization through “literature map,” share with others, monitor when other papers on topic come out |
|
|
|
|
Pilot available on bioRxiv site |
Pilot in collaboration with ScienceCast that provides 3 AI-generated summaries for preprints on bioRxiv: one aimed at a general audience, one for a reader with some expertise in the subject, and one for a reader with high level expertise in the subject. |
|
Summaries based on entire paper, not just abstract
|
|
|
|
ProQuest Research Assistant, Clarivate |
Beta testing in ProQuest One Literature |
Research companion for students that features conversational inquiry for search and discovery. Answers are grounded in ProQuest’s large and vetted collection of full text scholarly works.
Powered by Clarivate’s Academic AI Platform |
Provides summary answer to query, and lists sources selected as references to generate answer. User can access selected sources as well as a longer list of results.
Enhanced features available Sept 2024: offers users deeper engagement with full-text documents and help crafting effective searches |
Emphasis on transparency: provides a description for the user of what the tool did when it performed the search. |
|
|
Web of Science Research Assistant, Clarivate |
Beta testing. Full release Sept 2024 |
Conversational discovery tool for Web of Science Core Collection.
“Researchers can ask questions and more easily uncover the right answers from Web of Science data, with the AI Research Assistant cutting through the complexity of data and making connections between articles, as well as helping them to browse concise summaries of articles and results sets.”
Powered by Clarivate’s Academic AI Platform |
Provides summary answer to query, and summary of sources selected as references to generate answer. User can access selected sources as well as a longer list of results.
User can choose between core search and Research Assistant |
Emphasis on transparency: provides a description for the user of what the tool did when it performed the search. |
|
|
Primo Research Assistant, Clarivate |
Beta testing, formal launch anticipated Q4 2024 |
GenAI-powered conversational discovery for patrons exploring library materials |
Answers natural language queries with references based on top 5 abstracts, based on results found in Central Discovery Index. Search suggestions to help user expand topic. Non-English search and answer support. More on features here. |
|
|