|
Name |
Purchasing Model |
Description |
Key Features |
Pros |
Limitations |
|
Free version: 5 generators/day + limited access to all generators. Standard and professional versions ($) include more generations per day and access all existing and upcoming generators. Organizational license also available. See Pricing Plans on homepage. |
Teaching assistant that generates resources for the classroom. |
Input your desired topic and app can generate a variety of teaching materials, such as lesson objectives, multiple choice quizzes, work schemes, class questions, rubrics, glossaries, etc. |
“Learning needs” feature can specify prompts in lesson plan generator to curate content aimed to be accessible to specific groups of learners. See GenAI + Accessibility report from JISC, Oct. 2023. |
|
|
|
Free version, then Plus and Pro versions with monthly fees |
AI for “presenting ideas”--generates content without you needing to do formatting/design work (as advertised on homepage). |
Creates slide deck presentations. Also creates docs and webpages (gives example of “event microsites” in templates). |
|
|
|
|
Alethea, Clarivate |
Subscription model, contact Clarivate here for more details (bottom of page) |
“Alethea facilitates meaningful engagement with academic texts, class readings, and assignments through personalized and adaptive guidance. It provides faculty and librarians with the insights they need to analyze students’ reading engagement and rapidly adapt their teaching.” -Clarivate press release
Powered by Clarivate’s Academic AI Platform |
Performance analytics and reports to monitor students
Use their set of text-centered tasks for students to engage with course material
|
Claims to prioritize students’ metacognition and critical thinking. |
|
|
Offer student-paid or institutional-paid, individual licensing for departments, or campus-wide pricing options. Contact for quote. Also offer 20-min demos upon request. |
“Our platform acts as a ‘Digital TA’, giving every student an AI writing tutor and every instructor an AI grading assistant.” |
Packback Questions: student discussion platform with AI-based writing coaching and community moderation.
Packback Deep Dives: Platform with AI writing tutor for students and AI grading assistant for instructors.
Detects AI-generated content |
|
|
|
|
Basic version free, Pro and Pro Premium with fees. Educators and Students have separate pricing schemas. |
Unlimited AI-generated practice math problems and answers |
Generates problems at different difficulty levels in different areas of mathematics. Can provide hints, as well as step-by-step solutions (for Pro). Can create printable problem worksheets/quizzes. |
|
|
|
|
Automated Feedback, FeedbackFruits |
Website has contact form to book demo |
Gives students structural and mechanical feedback on their academic writing, so that teachers can focus their energies on giving feedback on higher-order cognitive skills. |
Customizable feedback criteria.
Individual and class-wide learning analytics dashboard.
Can integrate with FeedbackFruits’ other tools and with Turnitin.
In Oct 2023, released “Automated Feedback Coach” features, which uses GenAI to assist students in providing peer feedback. More on version 2.0 here. |
Integrates into your native Learning Management System (e.g., Canvas, Blackboard, Moodle, Teams) |
|
|
Demo available, price of institutional subscription unclear on website. |
GenAI-powered study tools that enhance Kortext’s Arcturus study platform. |
Summarization of content, creating study notes, q&a tool to reinforce learning, translation, citation generation, access to collection of educational resources, place to organize study materials and facilitate collaboration.
See also features of Kortext’s Arcturus platform for faculty (includes learning analytics dashboard), librarians, and students. |
|
|
|
|
All core features free, enhanced Premium version available for fee. School and district licenses also available. |
Tool for teachers to create interactive learning resources. Stated mission is to create learning materials that will spark interest and creativity of students, thus better engaging them in their learning. |
AI-generated activities and lessons.
Offer 10-hour AI certification with Curipod for instructors. |
|
|
|
|
Free version with limited number of uploads and flashcards, upgraded versions with more for a fee. |
Converts lecture slides, textbook material, videos, diagrams, webpages etc. into flashcards. |
Students type responses to flashcards and get feedback to identify areas where there isn’t full comprehension. Works with pdfs, web pages, YouTube. |
|
|
|
|
AI Marketplace for Canvas LMS, Instructure |
Beta release via waitlist |
Collection of AI tools and services that integrate into Canvas, through collaboration with partners such as Khan Academy and Praxis |
10 tools currently listed, here.
Includes Khanmigo (essay feedback and grading, lesson planning, rubric creation, student differentiation); Copyleaks (recognize plagiarism and AI-generated content); and Trinka AI (revising academic writing). |
|
|
|
AI Design Assistant, Anthology |
Exclusively available in Blackboard Learn Ultra, need to opt in
|
AI capabilities embedding in Blackboard to assist instructors and instructional designers |
Simplify course creation by creating assignments, assessments, assessment tools (rubrics etc.) based on your course content. Provides visuals/image recommendations |
|
|
|
Free plan does not include ability to download your presentations; $2.50/download. Enterprise tier beta |
Creates slideshow presentations
Uses ChatGPT API
Primarily operates through web browser |
Works with Google Slides and Powerpoint
Can generate slides from just a title |
Generates speaker notes |
Can’t download presentations without paying. Otherwise can only access slideshow through webpage link
Can’t adjust number of slides directly so may end up with more than you wanted |
|
|
Free plan available, then tiers with increasing capabilities and prices. Pricing here |
Creates slideshow presentations
Mainly used as Google Slides extension. Need to install MagicSlides from Google Workspace Marketplace to use |
Can take text or even URL of a YouTube video and create a slidedeck about it |
|
|
|
|
OpenAI Academy, OpenAI and Khan Academy |
Rumored will be released late 2023, and free |
Selection of courses with GPT-5 as instructor/tutor |
|
|
|
|
Integrates into different educational management systems |
AI-powered learning analytics platforms that integrates into many different learning (and other types of) management systems, such as Canvas |
GAI-powered chat that helps teachers make sense of analytics data about their students and form data-driven decisions |
|
|
|
|
Unclear – Teachers and admin can book demo through website |
AI tutor, assesses students through conversation, generates assignments |
|
|
|
|
|
Beta release |
Generates practice and quiz questions based on existing course content |
|
|
|
|
|
Free version with very limited number of questions can ask “Eva”; paid Plus version with higher quotas |
AI tutor for students, that solves and answers questions on uploaded problems/documents |
DocSolver tools allows users to upload documents and have problems/questions solved, then chat with “Eva” who offers explanations
AI CourseMate (beta) allows users to upload documents/textbooks from a course then ask “Eva” questions about them, have “Eva” map out course structure, etc. |
Chrome extension available
App for iOS/Android available |
|
|
|
Free or subscription versions |
Problem-solver. Upload assignments, crop the problem you wanted solved, and AI will solve it for you, show step by step solution, and offer explanation. |
|
|
Says for any subject though all examples on homepage feature math |
|
|
AI Tutor, TutorOcean |
Beta release. Free version, two tiers of paid versions |
Personalized learning assistance. |
Answers questions through chat, creates personalized lesson plans and practice exams, tracks your progress, provides writing assistance. |
Claims can be used for any subject or grade level, from elementary school to university levels.
Can also connect you with a human tutor from TutorOcean when needed. |
|
|
Name |
Purchasing Model |
Description |
Key Features |
Pros |
Limitations |
|
14-day free trial, then tiered pricing plans
|
AI-powered slide deck creation. |
Choose slide deck (“smart slide templates”) and enter ideas (can be notes in messy form) and tool will adapt and turn users’ content into polished slide.Or use DesignerBot tool, which allows users to enter description of desired slide deck and have it generated automatically, then are able to make edits. Can also generate images for slides based on text descriptions. |
Slack, DropBox, Powerpoint, monday.com integrations |
|
|
|
Pilot program. New users (teachers, limit 3 per school) can test for free through Fall 2024 |
Teacher-developed tool that gives students feedback on their writing under instructor guidance, and encourages students to reflect and respond to feedback |
Instructors choose type of feedback and can benefit from feedback library of feedback types other instructors have chosen.
|
Integrates with common LMSs
Presents itself as human-centered, not aiming to replace teachers but complement their work, and engage students in critical thinking about AI and their writing |
|
|
|
Beta 0.2 release, try it here |
Assesses and generates feedback on student assignments.
Developed by academic entrepreneurs team that spun out of University of Surrey |
Teachers can modify scores and feedback.
Generates analysis reports of student performance |
|
|
|
|
Beta. Four tiers of pricing (basic version free). Institutional subscription available |
Instructors can create a chatbot (or choose from already created chatbots) tailored to their course curriculum.
Originally K-12 focused, but potential applications for university level |
Uses text, image, audio, video
Chatbots can grade students
Teacher can review how student used AI, see chat history |
Do not need coding knowledge to create custom chatbots
Mizou claims chatbots are reliable because trained on “reliable educational blogs, articles, and forums” and draw from teachers’ inputted course content
Data privacy assurances: do not share student data with third parties, not using student inputs to train AI models, FERPA compliant |
|
|
|
AI Coach, Edthena |
Request free pilot access here |
AI-powered virtual coach that guides teachers through improving their instruction. Uses video recording of teacher’s class session to offer observation tips based on teacher’s goals.
Created by Edthena, founded in 2011 by former science teacher, creates video-powered professional learning tools. |
Teacher can add time-stamped comments to their video. Virtual coach provides relevant resources for further reference in relation to teacher’s focus area. |
|
|
|
Adds new GenAI features to Coursera for Campus offerings in the areas of assessment creation, grading and evaluation, academic integrity |
Features include assessment generator, suggested scores and feedback, personalized AI tutor for guided practice, peer review assistant, plagiarism detector |
|
As of June 2024, certain features still being piloted with select customers only |
||
|
|
Virtual Teaching Assistant created by Georgia Tech researcher Ashok Goel in 2016, now with new version that runs on ChatGPT. Answers students’ questions based on course material. |
|
"We address the hallucination issue by citing the documents from which information is obtained and verifying grounding using textual entailment. To prevent Jill Watson from answering unsafe questions or generating unsafe responses, we employ a classifier for question relevance, toxic text filters, and prompts that promote politeness in response generation. Further, Jill Watson is designed to answer questions based on multiple large documents which makes it well-suited for intelligent textbooks." - paper
|
|
|
|
Free |
Creates short audiobook about user’s topic of choice. Information for audiobook comes from a web index. |
Use on web or iOS app |
|
|
|
|
|
AI-powered English speaking coach |
For students: record voice and get feedback, speaking and writing test simulators to prepare forIELTS test, ‘Daily Stories’ and ‘Courses’ for practice
For teachers: use to assess English language level of students, get proficiency reports, gives students way of practicing on their own |
|
|
|
|
Text to speech and related tools.
In education context: making learning more accessible for students |
Features include AI dubbing, AI video generator, AI transcription
Integrates in Chrome and Edge. Apps for Apple and Android devices
|
|
|
||
|
Customizable GenAI assistants, with teaching and learning and student success applications as suggested use cases |
Upload your data and customize AI assistant. Suggested uses include instructors creating an assistant for their course or students uploading info about campus life to ask questions about it |
|
|
||
|
Contact for demo |
Provides in-depth analysis of student feedback (includes course evaluations, open-ended survey responses, posts on external websites) to optimize student learning and success and help instructors and institutions deal with an increasing amount of student feedback data |
|
|
|
|
|
Pricing (for institution or program) |
Collaboration and discussion tools that integrate into major LMSs. Uses ChatGPT |
Generate customizable assignments, prompts, rubrics.
AI Rubric Coach features gives students initial feedback based on instructor’s rubric even before submission |
|
|
|
|
Institutions can contact for trial/pilot |
AI features include AI tutor for students and AI copilot for instructors |
Conversational tutor for students, also generates practice quizzes and study schedules. Writing tool also generates outlines, text, and revises writing. |
In addition to offering detailed explanations to student questions, also refers students to (human) local tutors for further help.
Can choose between models (from OpenAI, Claude, Google, Mistral)
Differs from ChatGPT interaction in that when you ask it to solve a math problem, it will walk through and explain most steps but leave it to student to find the answer.
|
|