|
Name |
Purchasing Model |
Description |
Key Features |
Pros |
Limitations |
|
Free, Plus ($5/month) |
Tool that creates semantic indexes for individual PDFs and answers queries about them. Can also chat with multiple PDFs
Runs on ChatGPT 3.5 |
|
|
Can not read images and does poorly with tables
|
|
|
Free, Personal ($9.99/month), academic institutional license ($8,000+/month) based on FTEs |
Article summarization tool for uploaded docs |
Browser extension available for Chrome and Edge
Can create referenced summaries of articles that can be used to facilitate proper citations/summaries for insertion into papers.
Creates links to open access versions of cited sources |
User inputs not used to train models. See Jisc evaluation. |
Does not work with any paywalled URLS |
|
|
Free starter plan up to 60 pgs processed, Pro version for $14.99/month |
Upload documents then ask tool questions about it. Can summarize and create new writing for you based on the uploaded file. |
|
Security: document data is not used to train their model, all data permanently deleted after 30 days. |
|
|
|
Free, upgraded versions for $12 or $20/month respectively. |
Tool to help understand complex academic articles.
Free version runs on ChatGPT-3.5, most expensive version runs on GPT-4.. |
Upload PDFs of academic articles and ask for explanations of sections. More expensive versions generate summaries, search through papers, summarize multiple docs at once. |
|
|
|
|
Basic version free, more advanced versions for individuals and teams also available for a fee. |
Tool to help understand complex scientific articles. Search for science research papers within their database, or upload PDFs. Aims to accelerate literature review process. |
Gives summaries based on top 5 results. Can ask for summaries of specific aspects of results. Highlight text, equations, or tables to ask for simplified explanations.
Google Chrome extension available. |
Gives citations/sources when doing analysis/answering questions. |
|
|
|
14 day free trial, then monthly or annual fee. Academic and Professional versions (40% discount for Academic), each has Basic and Pro options. |
Summarization and research tool. |
Keyword extraction and definition, semantic and query-based search within and across documents, summarisation of entire documents and sections within them.
Chrome extension available |
|
Only support English language files and documents (as of September 2023). |
|
|
Basic version free, Plus version $7/month. |
Summarizes wide variety of file types including audio and video. Powered by ChatGPT. |
|
|
|
|
|
Enterprise subscription only. |
A comprehensive platform for all your research processing: Smart search and a wide range of smart filters, reading list analysis, auto-generated summaries, autonomous extraction and systematizing of data. |
Customizable workspace adaptable to range of disciplines Discovery and data analysis tools. |
Bespoke algorithm that does not require ChatGPT Algorithm develops ‘specialization’ in researchers fields Allows users to upload/link to articles and data to be integrated into the workspace. Monitors PubMed and other OA sources and alerts user to new relevant content.
|
|
|
|
Free version with limits on file uploads; paid and business plans also available. |
Chat with uploaded documents or collections of documents. Embed chattable files on your website. |
API available
Supports pdf, csv, txt and docx files. |
FAQ claims can chat in multiple languages.
Uploaded documents are private unless you choose to make them public. Stored through Amazon S3 cloud storage service. |
|
|
|
NotebookLM, Google |
Experimental, waitlist only, in US only |
Note-taking software with GenAI, to help more quickly gather insights from your notes/data. Cloud-based app. |
Summarize your notes, generate new ideas, translate your notes, ask questions about docs you’ve uploaded, find relevant info from other sources related to your notes, create presentations and reports from your notes |
|
|
|
Notion (w/o AI) has free basic versions, with paid plus, enterprise, and business tiers.
For AI add-on, $8-10/month/member. |
All in one workspace for wikis, docs, and projects that now has AI add-on. |
AI add-on can answer questions based on info in your stored content, generate drafts/summaries/insights, and autofill tables. |
Your data not used for training AI models (they have agreement with their AI subprocessors for this).
Privacy standards adhere to GDPR
Free for students and teachers and discounts for schools. Unclear if this includes AI features.
|
|
|
|
Free for 1 pdf upload + 500 questions per month. Pro/ultimate/enterprise versions with fee. Pricing here |
Upload and query PDFs.
Outside of more typical academic use cases of querying articles or books, also lists querying financial reports, user manuals, and legal documents among its use cases. |
Chrome extension, Google Drive integration, Dropbox integration available
Can take screenshot from pdf and ask questions directly (with Enterprise plan)
Can chat with multiple pdfs at once
OCR support, can chat with image-based pdfs
Save your most frequent prompts in a library for reuse |
Option for private document storage so that uploads don’t come into contact with their cloud storage, to ensure privacy
Claims can read and chat in “any language” |
|
|
Name |
Purchasing Model |
Description |
Key Features |
Pros |
Limitations |
|
Self-hosted version is free, Pro version $8/month. Custom enterprise version also available. Pricing here |
AI-powered search engine across your company’s docs, apps, and people
MIT open source license
|
Connects to Slack, Google Drive, Github, Confluence, and many others, and local files
Main features include direct Q&A with answers with source links, Intelligent Document Retrieval, and more |
Detailed documentation on setup and a system overview
Enterprise: can host on your own cloud or Danswer’s |
|
|
|
Free version then several tiers, pricing here. Most AI features included in free version |
Zapier is a platform that connects your applications to automate workflows, with no coding knowledge needed. Now it is enhanced with AI features. |
AI features: describe automating workflow you want in plain language and will receive a drafted plan for a “Zap” (the connected applications), add AI-generated notes to “Zaps”, create topic-specific chatbots. More here.
|
|
|
|
|
Advanced Data Analysis (formerly Code Interpreter), OpenAI |
Available with ChatGPT Plus and Enterprise subscriptions
|
Writes and runs code in Python to do data analysis, create charts, solve math problems.
Runs on GPT-4 |
Upload/edit/download files, can write and run code, run data analysis, solve math problems, create files and webpages |
Because it can write and run code, potential usefulness for people who do not code (as argued here) |
|
|
Some features can try on website for free (unclear what pricing is later), others ask you to sign up for waitlist |
Manuscript feedback, search and discovery, generates summaries from search results, tracks trends in research field |
|
|
|
|
|
|
Provides summaries of uploaded text |
Can extract key metadata and images from text, gives reading time estimation
Chrome and Firefox extensions available |
|
|
|
|
Basic version free then a few tiers with fees |
Upload documents (PDF, PPT, TXT, etc.) to “chat” with them |
Can install directly on ChatGPT.
Zotero plugin
Chrome extension |
|
|
|
|
Free basic version or Plus version for $9.90/month |
Multipurpose tool that works with your data in different ways
Their description: “Powerdrill is built for bridging your data and AI. It provides the services and platform for no-code and one-stop integration of your data and OpenAI large language models (LLMs) for intelligent Q&As and ecosystem interaction.” |
Chat based on your datasets (that advertises itself as more accurate than ChatGPT), no-code app builder, dataset sharing, advanced analytics, access to ChatGPT client tools w/o OpenAI account |
|
|
|
|
Free basic version, upgraded version also available for free |
Analyze and visualize data |
Chat to ask questions about and analyze data, generate data visualizations
ChatGPT plugin called Chat With Your Data |
When analyzing your data, executes Python code and shows you what it is doing for transparency |
|
|
|
Beta release (Feb 2024). When out of beta there will be add-on subscription plan for Reader and Acrobat customers |
Built into Reader and Acrobat, can produce summaries of and answer questions about PDFs and other docs |
In addition to Q&A and summaries, can also reformat its outputs (into emails, reports, etc.), gives citations to show source of its outputs, can be used on Word or PowerPoint files |
|
|
|
|
Basic version free, Premium and Enterprise versions also available |
Upload PDFs for quicker reading/comprehension experience and audio version |
Listen to uploaded PDF (full text or key statements), highlight and take notes, English to Spanish translation |
Emphasis on audio and other accessibility-oriented features. |
|
|
|
Basic version free, or annual subscription of £169 |
Tool for summarizing research articles from database of over 15,000 open papers. |
Creates “bite size” text or audio summaries (using OpenAI). Aims to make complex articles comprehensible to non-academic audiences.
Recommends you papers based on your interests |
Tool with appeal to non-academic users, as it focuses on making research accessible and comprehensible for this audience. |
|
|
|
Student, Classroom, and Institution plans available; pricing here |
Platform for student research workflow, now enhanced with generative AI |
Core features are a browser plugin that allows students to annotate, track, and organize digital content. Also builds an outline based on your saved research content. Can reorganize research content in web app.
GAI features assist with brainstorming, can ask for feedback/refine your output, can analyze your notes and suggest an intro, etc. See Pricing for clearer map of which AI features are available with each plan. |
|
|
|
|
Need Zotero installed plus access to GPT4/ChatGPT Plus account + download their latest .xpi file from Github |
Zotero plugin powered by GPT-4, answers questions based on papers in your library. |
|
|
Compatible with Zotero 6, not yet with 7 |