LibGuides: Defence and Security: Journals

How to Find Journals

The library provides access to a substantial number of journals. You may search the content of these journals using the tabbed search box available at the library main page, or you may view the content of a specific journal or browse certain issues by searching the Publication Finder which will help you identify whether the library subscribe to a particular title or not.

Selected Journals

** Note: You must FIRST log in to your library account to access these journals.

Aljundi Journal – A Military & Cultural Monthly Magazine A monthly, print, electronic, cultural and military journal published in Arabic and English by the Ministry of Defence of the United Arab Emirates (UAE). Under the directives of H.H Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, minister of defence, Al Jundi Journal was launched in October 1973, with the aim of covering news and activities of the Ministry of Defence and Armed Forces of the United Arab Emirates. Al Jundi Journal has focused, since its inception, by utilizing an elite of prominent writers and specialists in the defence and security field from around the world, to publish studies, researches, reports, and specialized military subjects dealing with researches and analysis of a number of vital issues and topics of interest to observers in the United Arab Emirates, the Arab region and the world. The journal, with its printed version, website and digital platforms, is keen to monitor and keep abreast of the most prominent political, military and security events, news of new weapons and the scientific and technological developments that modern technologies and artificial intelligence have achieved in the military field. In order to achieve its goals and meet the requirements of readers and followers, Al Jundi dedicates important portion of its pages to publishing investigations and interviews with high-ranking military and civilian figures with a reputation around the world. Al Jundi Journal is also interested in publishing articles of distinguished Emirati, Arab and foreign writers. To enrich the cultural and scientific scene, Al Jundi Journal publishes, through its various chapters, reports and cultural, economic, medical, and sports topics. Al Jundi Journal publishes annually several supplements that keep pace with the most important events in the United Arab Emirates.
Advances in Military Techonology A peer reviewed journal that provides insight into theoretical considerations and practical innovations in military and security technology. The journal covers a broad spectrum of interests including research, development, design, manufacturing, control, utilization, reliability, sustainability, and the effectiveness of new technologies for military and security requirements. AiMT builds a bridge between theoretical perspectives and practical considerations that are of active interest to the academic, scientific, business and policy communities.
Critical Military Studies Critical Military Studies publishes research on the critical aspects of military power and operations, institutions and international relations.
Defence and Peace Economics The Defence and Peace Economics Journal is a longstanding publisher of academic material and covers varied aspects of the economics of defence, disarmament and peace. It publishes research on the economics of defense, security, disarmament, conflict and peace, covering civil war, national security, terrorism and more.
Defence and Security Analysis Defense & Security Analysis is an independent, interdisciplinary and international journal which is mainly concerned with the field of defense theory and analysis. Whilst endeavouring to be scholarly in both content and style, it is designed to be a forum for exchange of data, ideas and methodological approaches among the professional military, their supporting bureaucracies and academic and independent researchers involved in the analysis of defense policy. A wide range of methodological approaches to defense matters will be encompassed - quantitative, qualitative and speculative. The Editors welcome contributions to Defense & Security Analysis that fall within the following subject categories: Comparative defense policies Defense intelligence Defense management and command Defense procurement and sales Defense technology, research and development Economics of defense Formulation, simulation and prediction of defense issues Historical patterns and trends concerning defense Hypotheses, theories and critiques of defense, security and war Internal defense and low-intensity operations Medical and psychological dimensions of defense Methodological approaches to defense issues Operations research and analysis Social and legal aspects of war, defense and armed forces Terrorism, counter-terrorism and internal security Thoroughly interested in contentious debate and new interpretations, Defense & Security Analysis has two additional categories contained within the journal under which articles are published:‘Critical Comments’ and ‘Fresh Perspectives’. The former provides an opportunity for authors to challenge current opinion, defense and security policies or to respond to articles published in the journal; the latter provides a platform for those scholars who wish to express bold and daring arguments on current issues. In addition to scholarly, refereed articles, Defense & Security Analysis will include commissioned works and contributions published at the discretion of the Editors. Suggestions or proposals of possible articles and reviews are therefore welcomed. Unless the author specifies to the contrary, submitted articles will normally be evaluated, anonymously, by an independent reviewer. Defense & Security Analysis also publishes special editions, occasionally with a Guest Editor, which address a major defense or security issue.
International Journal of Intelligence and CounterIntelligence Research on national security and past developments that helps government and businesses to make contemporary intelligence-related decisions and policy.
International Peacekeeping International Peacekeeping is an international peer-reviewed journal that examines the theory, practice, outcomes and consequences of peacekeeping operations throughout the world. Established in 1994, International Peacekeeping was the first scholarly journal devoted to studying the growing phenomenon of peacekeeping in the post-Cold War era. Since then it has set the agenda for research into peacekeeping. Reflecting the growth and expansion of peacekeeping since the end of the Cold War, the journal has grown to encompass debates about peacebuilding and monitoring of agreements, humanitarian intervention and the responsibility to protect, preventive deployments, sanctions, international policing, protection of aid in internal disputes, and the relationship between peacekeepers, state authorities, rival factions, civilians and non-governmental organizations. The journal promotes debate on these issues in the fields of international relations, military studies, peace and conflict studies, international law, feminist studies and development studies. Overseen by an international editorial team, International Peacekeeping is an important source of analysis for institutes and universities with an interest in international relations, security and strategic studies, the United Nations, peace research and conflict resolution. Scholars, policy-makers, government officials, NGO workers, journalists and students will find this journal an invaluable forum for the discussion of international efforts to reduce violent conflict.
International Security Original research and lists of recently published books on all aspects of international security issues emphasizing the role of science and technology in the analysis of international affairs.
Journal of Military Ethics Publishes articles on military ethics, covering normative aspects of military force, jus ad bellum, jus in bello, post-conflict role of military forces and more.
Media, War & Conflict Media, War & Conflict is a major international, peer-reviewed journal that maps the shifting arena of war, conflict and terrorism in an intensively and extensively mediated age. It explores cultural, political and technological transformations in media-military … | View full journal description This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).
Small Wars & Insurgencies Small Wars & Insurgencies provides an international and interdisciplinary forum for the academic and scholarly discussion of the historical, political, social, economic and psychological aspects of insurgency, counter-insurgency, limited war and irregular warfare. Peer-reviewed and long-established, Small Wars & Insurgencies invites papers concerned with, but not limited to, the following areas: • insurgencies and guerrilla conflicts past and present • counterinsurgencies including national doctrines • terrorist movements and ideologies • irregular warfare and the debates on its historiography • peacekeeping and “humanitarian intervention”. Essential reading, Small Wars & Insurgencies facilitates the discussion of historians, political scientists and students of International Relations and Security Studies on theoretical and practical issues related to the past, present and future of this critical area of both international and domestic politics. The journal is historically focused and is keen to see contributions from scholars using primary and archival sources, as well as interviews. It also welcomes contributions investigating media, literary and cinema representations of insurgencies, counter-insurgencies and irregular warfare. Most issues include an authoritative review section, and the journal’s policy is to have 2–3 special issues each year devoted to specific themes and issues, often edited by guest editors.
Studies in Conflict & Terrorism Studies in Conflict and Terrorism aims to cast new light on the origins and implications of conflict in the 21st Century and to illuminate new approaches and solutions to countering the growth and escalation of contemporary sub-state violence. The journal is specifically oriented to both practitioner and scholarly audiences and is thus meant to bridge the divide between theory and practice. Studies in Conflict and Terrorism thus seeks to publish theoretical and empirical studies that contribute to a better understanding of the causes of terrorism and insurgency as well as the measures required to achieve their resolution. The journal addresses security challenges fuelled by religious and nationalist strife, moribund peace processes, disputes over natural resources, and transnational organized crime. In a world of diverse and changing threats, enigmatic adversaries, and continued uncertainty, the editor’s goal is to provide fresh insight, thoughtful analysis, and authoritative prescriptions to the most pressing concerns that affecting global security in the 21st century.
Survival Global Politics and Strategy Survival publishes world-leading analysis, debate and policy-relevant discussion on issues of international politics and strategic affairs.

How to Find Articles

You can search for articles in two ways. Either through the library main page which will search for articles in all the databases that the library subscribe to, or through a specific database which you may go to from the Databases tab.

Each database features full-text articles as well as detailed indexing and abstracts for an array of journals. Most databases offer searching features that help you find what you are looking for using one or a combination of keywords and by refining a result list by content type, date of publication, and many more.

Browse Journal Titles by Subject

Humanitarianism \|	See All Publications
Law of Armed Conflict \|	See All Publications
Military History \|	See All Publications
Military Studies \|	See All Publications
National Security \|	See All Publications
Policing \|	See All Publications
Security (General) \|	See All Publications
Terrorism \|	See All Publications

The following subjects and the publications associated with them are not inclusive and do not represent the complete publications available through the library. Browsing journals by subject is not as accurate as viewing the publications and title lists form the database itself. Therefore, it is recommended to consult with library staff in case you are looking for a specific publication.

Publication Finder

Scholarly VS Peer-Reviewed Journals

Scholarly journals provide quality and respected information and research on a specific topic. Articles in scholarly journals are written by experts in a particular field. They may present original content or research findings, or take a stance on key questions in their field. Articles in scholarly journals are oftentimes peer reviewed or refereed.

Peer-reviewed journals take the articles one step further before publication. The term peer-reviewed or refereed articles are interchangeable and refer to the process in which an article has undergone a rigorous review process and critiqued by the author’s peers who are experts in the same subject area.

Tip: Peer-reviewed journals are always scholarly in nature, but scholarly journals are not always peer-reviewed. However, in most cases, it is safe to assume that a peer-reviewed journal is also scholarly.